Follow Up to Mrs. Driscoll’s class!

Yesterday I celebrated Mrs. Driscoll for her work nudging herself along the Stages of Concern by using her Ipad with a reflection app to teach the kids how to publish on Pages, while at the same time showing them some ins and outs of the device. Today, I was invited back in, to watch the kids in action.  What do you predict I saw?  Yep, the kids were indeed publishing with incredible proficiency.  But, what gave Kim and I goosebumps was watching the collaboration. It was more than the typical neighborly, “let me show you,” kind of conversation. We saw kids authentically reaching out to help their classmates make their work better.  If you know elementary kids, you know that this is different.

As I watched Abby and Leila, I was struck by the very organic conversation and partnership that had bubbled up.  I honestly don’t even know who was helping who because it was such an even give and take. What I do know is that as a result of their conversation, BOTH girls work was enhanced.

ImageImage

Similar “give and takes” happened all over the classroom as kids looked up from their own work and reached out to help their classmates succeed.

One question we have batted around a bit in my district, is will kids detach from one another as they become attached to their device? Over and over again, we have heard from other educators….just wait! The collaboration will be there and it will be even better (in my interpretation, more authentic). Granted, the kids were collaborating on how to make their finished work better, so yes, the bells and whistles of Pages, but I’m telling you….they were in it not for themselves, but for their peers and keep in mind, it was their first day with the Ipads.  My fingers are crossed….

What has been your experience watching kids collaborate (or not!) with personal devices?

One thought on “Follow Up to Mrs. Driscoll’s class!

  1. I’ve seen the same from my high schoolers. The best webquest lessson I’ve ever had involved collaboration around the my class iPads. I had each student in a group going to a different website covering the content, and then they had really organic conversations analyzing pros and cons of the examples each website gave. The personal devices were what made the collaboration POSSIBLE. They could not as easily talked around monitors in a computer lab or even shared laptop screens as they did their iPads.

Leave a Reply

