Stepping it up a notch….

I just read a blog post by Lisa Dabbs, whom I have recently started following on  Twitter (@teachingwithsoul). In her post Breakaway Monday, she challenges all of us to write. Not just to do lists or updated calendars or staff memos: WRITE.  

She brings up a good point; as a teacher and a district staff developer, I wrote A LOT. I wrote newsletters, funny notes, reflections for different grad classes, lesson plans, press releases, heck I was even published at one point.   As an administrator I find my writing becoming more and more….busy.  More busy,than substantive. This is a bummer for me, because I have always found clarity when I can actually sit down and start dumping language on paper.  My writing during the school year, and I swear, maybe I just noticed it more last year has turned into reminders, fast replies. How fast can I hit send?  

So, I publicly proclaim to return to what I know to be true: writing helps me find clarity.  

I have to laugh at a recollection to support this. Some may find totally wacko but we had a lice outbreak at my school in May. Not an epidemic.  (Although, that word was tossed around by angst filled family members). We had a Girl Scout troop that went on a weekend camp out, a hockey team that went away to a tournament, various sleepovers etc. that congealed into the perfect storm of creepy crawlers.  One of our district policies is to send home a very legal’ish letter explaining to parents how not gross lice are  (um, yeah) and how anyone can get them etc.  It is dry, on letter head and I have to sign it.  You know what? This time, I didn’t want to sign it. My families were upset and wanted to know everything was going to be ok.  This letter did not help them. So, I dumped the letter and wrote my own. In fact, I ended up writing three and e-blasting them to all parents and staff, three days in a row.   I went to my core and I wrote for them.

I went personal: my kid has had lice. Twice.  I was mortified too, but we survived.

I went humorous: I listed the home remedies I have heard of from people. (Seriously, I need to write a book).

I went practical: I listed all the fun ways lice can be transferred from head to head like sharing bike helmets.

I went to the community: If we were going to get rid of this, we all had to work together. 

And the responses I got back were 100% positive. Not thrilled with the situation, but still very thankful that I was keeping it real and helping families see that there was light at the end of the tunnel.

What’s the point? Well, writing helped not only me, but my families. I felt better because I felt like I was doing SOMETHING besides combing through hair, and my families felt better because I was showing some empathy.

When do you write for others? When do you write for yourself?

 

2 thoughts on “Stepping it up a notch….

  1. How will you and your parents monitor your use of technology? When do you know you have enough screen time?

    I know when I am using to much technology I get a splitting headache and stuff is blurry on the screen

    Is there such thing as to much technology? What does that look like?

    If you are focusing only on your I pad and not your parents and relatives or not playing outside with your brother or sister

Leave a Reply

