5th Graders ~ October 2013 ~ What have you learned about responsible technology use?

OK 5th graders!

You have been getting lots of information on how to use and handle your minis responsibly.

Now I get to weigh in! Over the first few days you have your mini home, I would like you to do some thinking, both independently and with your family, about the responsibilities of working in the online world.   I will ask you to think about being safe, being responsible, and being healthy while living a bit in the online world.  The Road Rules for school apply no matter where you are. You are a Robinson student whether you are at 803 Couch or on YOUR couch (ha ha, get it?!)

Please watch this short video on Online Citizenship with a parent, or another adult family member. Please let me know you have viewed the video by COMMENTING with your answers to the following questions: (Please respond with only your first name, or initials, and your teachers name).

After watching the video, please answer at least two of the following questions in a well formulated response to me. I will grade you on the 5th grade rubrics for writing below: click on them to make them bigger.

5th Grade Writing Attitude and Behaviors

5th grade Writing Rubric Selections

  • How will you and your parents monitor your use of technology?   When do you know you have enough “screen time?”
  • Is there such thing as too much technology?  What does that look like?
  • What advice do you give to your classmates about how to act responsibly online? How will you interrupt if you see someone you know acting irresponsibly online?
  • What are some examples of what it looks like to RESPECT YOURSELF, OTHERS, LEARNING and the ENVIRONMENT while working with your own device?

As we do in blog posts, please end your comment with a QUESTION to keep the conversation going. Then, go back and find two other posts to respond to and answer their question.

Enjoy the video!  What other topics might you suggest I have other kids write on as we move forward with ipads in other grades?

158 thoughts on “5th Graders ~ October 2013 ~ What have you learned about responsible technology use?

  1. Q#1
    My parents will help me by setting a timer. I will help by telling my parents what i am doing.
    Sometimes when I’ve been on for a long time I will get uncomfortable and stiff. I need to get up and stretch. That is when I know I’ve had too much screen time.

    Q#3
    Don’t go to not OK sites. If I see a friend do something that’s not OK I will suggest that they do something else that is already on their I-pad and safe.
    Also, remember to not put anything that is mean about someone online. If someone does I would try to remind them that they would not like that if someone said that about them.

    Make sure you take care of your I-pad. Keep it away from water. Also make sure it’s charged for class time use.
    Does anyone have a good idea to help remind us to charge our I-pads? Is it a good idea to charge every night? Or is that too much?

  2. #2
    Is there such thing as to much technology and what dose it look like? YES there is such thing as to much technology. For example it would look like somebody being on the Xbox, Wii,Computer, phone etc. too long. They would be staring at the screen ignoring you and saying one more min., hold on or yeah yeah yeah ill do it later. People would talk about phones and” the new games” a lot,have it in there back packs and they would be addicted to them.
    #1
    How will you and our parents monitor your use of technology?When do you know you’ve had enough screen time? You could set a timer for 20-30 min. For you to earn playing games you could do chores, homework, practice soccer, walk your dog, practice your instrument and play outside.
    What do you think is to muck screen time?!

  3. Yes there can be too much technology, in todays world it seems like everything is made for technology use. phones, computers, ipads, tvs, even though we may need these things we just have to be very careful of how much we adapt our lives to them. we still need to use our minds in a healthy way so we don’t become dependent on all technology.

    • •How will you and your parents monitor your use of technology? When do you know you have enough “screen time?”

      My parents will first give me what they think is my time allowed.
      They want me to stay focused on school first. if the ipad is being used for learning instead of play time then of course I will be allowed more time for school learning. just like when I read I have to set a limit because time can fly by and before you know it you have been on it way too long.

  4. Q3 i would like to give my classmates a lot of advice like don’t go on any sites you know unless your teacher or your parent tells you to also don’t be a rude mean or disrespectful online
    Q4 there are a lot of ways i would be respectful online like don’t do anything that could hurt someone”s feeling and also i will only go on sites that i am allowed on. that was my thinking about the questions the blog gave me

    some questions i have about internet safety are like why do people be mean like to hurt people;s feelings??
    my 2nd question is about the questions on the top that we answered it is about question 2 it said that how will you interrupt someone if hey are doing something bad online my question is that what if we interrupt the person who is doing something bad and they keep on doing something bad

    some of my comments for this blog are that this blog was very informative it made me learn new thing Thank you very much!!!!!

  5. Is there such thing as too much technology? What does that look like?
    Yes,it looks like you won’t get off the internet or you just get on your computer or iPad and not do your homework first your just idected.

  6. What advice do you give to your classmates about how to act responsibly online? How will you interrupt if you see someone you know acting irresponsibly online?
    Never talk to anybody or don’t tell your name on the internet or address .i would say you aren’t suppose to do that or say that as an example.

  7. What are some examples of what it looks like to RESPECT YOURSELF, OTHERS, LEARNING and the ENVIRONMENT while working with your own device? Not posting or talking about anyone on the internet because once you post it it’s out .

  8. Cori (Turken)

    How will you and your parents monitor your use of technology?   When do you know you have enough “screen time?”I will use technology when needed. I will not be on my mini all night. I will not be on my mini more than an hour total. I will be respectful to my mini by not leaving it around when younger kids are around. My mom and dad will check what I am doing on my mini to make sure that I am doing the right thing and doing my homework.

    Is there such thing as too much technology?  What does that look like? Yes there is a such thing as too much technology because if you are on internet all night long you will not get enough sleep and be falling asleep in class during the day. And if you are on the internet at school you won’t learn anything but some people think you can look on the internet at school but some times things on the internet are not true.

  9. I will answer questions 1 and 3.

    My answer to question 1 is that I will ask my mom or dad to check up on me every 5 minutes so they know that I am not on something I’m not supposed to be on. Because sometimes I’m on stuff I’m not supposed to be on without me knowing. So for me to gain their trust I try to show them I can be more responsible enough for them to trust me .

    What advice do you give to your classmates about how to act responsibly online? How will you interrupt if you see someone you know acting irresponsibly online?

    I would tell them that hey, you need to ask the teacher before you download an app or
    add something off the internet you need to know some facts about it so I can stay out of trouble and keep others out of trouble. My advice to other classmates is that when you have questions about an app you should ask either your teacher or Mrs. Sisul if it is appropriate for school or for school’s learning.

  10. •How will you and your parents monitor your use of technology? When do you know you have enough “screen time?” I will use my I-Pad in the kitchen with my parents. My parents will use the stop watch on their phones, and I will have 30 minutes of screen time.

  11. •What advice do you give to your classmates about how to act responsibly online? How will you interrupt if you see someone you know acting irresponsibly online? I would say that you should not be on that website, and you should be on the website the teacher said to be on.

  12. Question: Why do you want to take your iPad home to learn?
    1) Por que sin el ipad no podria comunicarme con los demas alumnos.
    2) Por que puedo leer en ingles y de esa manera aprendo mas.
    3) Por que conosco cosas que antes no conocia en la tablet de mi mama.

  13. I am answering questions 2 and 1.

    Question 2: You’re not suppose out the box and you”re suppose to think out the box its bad to think In the box
    For example: If I was playing on an electronic game or whatever the electronic is the box so that means
    Im the person and I”m thinking in the box [electronic] so I”m not watching my surroundings witch
    Is the outside of the box.

    Question 1: Yes! they can have a solution to this problem they can set a timer on the stove and I will
    Sit and mom’s room while she is on the computer because the stove timer is very loud
    And she will moniter me and whenever the stove timer goes of she can tell me to get of. Oh! And if I get mad no worries i’ll do something else that will make me happy.

    And mrs.sisul please I said please let me take the ipad home.
    Promise to use it with all my protection and protect with anything I can do.

  14. I will have a certain time of the day to use my Ipad. I will know when I had enough screen time because I will use a timer.

    I will tell my classmates to use nice comments.

  15. I agree that their can too much technology,
    Usually there is some kind of sign for each person like for me when I know that I have had enough screen time usually I get really grumpy so thats when I know that I have had enough screen time. Then i sot and usually i go and grab a snack and head outside to play or take a long walk.

  16. Answer #1 : Too much technology =tech taking over the roles of people(taking over their jobs.)
    Answer #2 : If I saw somebody I knew being irresponsible online I would tell them to stop.
    Then I would tell them exactly why(I don’t know why I would need to do this) they should stop.
    Answer #3 : I don’t usually get told my screen time is up, because I usually stop eventually,
    eliminating the need to be told that. Andrew and Jacob do, because they are obsessed with it,
    but not me.

Leave a Reply

